Rep. Chip Roy is honored to present Exceptional Senior Awards to outstanding members of the high school Class of 2021

May 21, 2021
Press Release

The second annual Exceptional Senior Award (ESA) is presented to stellar seniors across Texas’ 21st Congressional District for the graduating Class of 2021. The winners of this award are students that have consistently displayed high levels of character, leadership, integrity, and diligence through their philanthropic activities, academic success, and reputations among peers and teachers.

The Exceptional Senior Award winners for the Class of 2021 will be awarded to the following students:

  • Ms. Kate L. Adams – Memorial Early College High School, New Braunfels
  • Mr. Matthew Alkire – New Braunfels High School
  • Mr. Patrick Almond – Canyon Lake High School
  • Mr. Jack Apel – Hill Country Christian Home School Association, Kerrville
  • Ms. Ann Asher – Boerne Area Christian Home Schoolers
  • Ms. Olivia Atchley – Blanco High School
  • Ms. Caroline Bacon – Harper High School
  • Mr. Marco Balatbat – MacArthur High School, San Antonio
  • Ms. Cadence Balderas – Nueces Canyon High School
  • Mr. Joseph Walker Butler – Champion High School, Boerne
  • Ms. Halle Burton – Reagan High School, San Antonio
  • Mr. Bailey Cox – Bandera High School
  • Mr. Luke Enriquez – Cornerstone Christian Schools, San Antonio
  • Mr. Jackson Escamilla – Alamo Heights High School
  • Ms. Lucia Follman – St. Anthony Catholic High School, San Antonio
  • Ms. Victoria Garza – Antonian College Preparatory High School, San Antonio
  • Ms. Jacqueline Gibson – Hays High School, Buda
  • Mr. Clayton Gillen – Our Lady of the Hills Catholic School, Kerrville
  • Mr. Eli Greenberg – Saint Mary’s Hall, San Antonio
  • Mr. Jonathan Halpin – Tivy High School, Kerrville
  • Mr. Scott Hettie – Boerne High School
  • Ms. Elizabeth Rodriguez Jaimes – Travis Early College High School, Austin
  • Ms. Olivia Jones – Canyon High School, New Braunfels
  • Ms. Katherine Lacy – Geneva School, Boerne
  • Ms. Anna Claire Long – Regents School of Rhetoric, Austin
  • Ms. Maya Mackey – International School of the Americas, San Antonio
  • Ms. Harper McCracken – Comfort High School
  • Ms. Averie McHaney – Medina Secondary School
  • Ms. Claire Mueller – Incarnate Word High School, San Antonio
  • Ms. Lindsay Pattison – Smithson Valley High School, Bulverde
  • Mr. Nathanael Pfiester – Ingram Tom Moore High School
  • Ms. Kayley Phillippe – Utopia High School
  • Ms. Hailey Rayburn – Center Point High School
  • Mr. Sam Richburg – Heritage School, Fredericksburg
  • Mr. Trenton Robbins - Hill Country Christian Home School Cooperative, Kerrville
  • Ms. Amina Rose – Johnson High School, San Antonio
  • Ms. Ananya Salem – Headwaters School, Austin
  • Ms. Sasha Tunsiricharoengul – BASIS Charter Schools, Shavano Campus
  • Mr. Trey Van De Walle III – Bracken Christian School, Bulverde
  • Mr. Hunter K. Williams – Leakey High School
  • Ms. Mackenzie Young – San Marcos Academy


The Congressman plans to visit with these exceptional students virtually to offer his congratulations. He recognizes that high school seniors over the past year have experienced historic difficulties from the COVID-19 pandemic and the resulting lockdowns.

While speaking with awardees, the Congressman will encourage the students to choose optimism throughout the days ahead and remain proud of their achievements.

“I am incredibly proud of the achievements and character of each and every one of the recipients of the Exceptional Senior Awards,” said Congressman Roy. “With fine young people like these, Texans have reason to be optimistic about our great state’s future.”