

Washington, DC 20515-0906

March 24, 2023

The Honorable Kay Granger H-307, U.S. Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Rosa DeLauro 1036 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Robert Aderholt 2358-B Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairwoman Granger, Subcommittee Chair Aderholt, and Ranking Member DeLauro:

As you draft the upcoming Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act for FY 2024, we request that you include language in your bill that would defund COVID-19 vaccine mandates.

Earlier this Congress, the Freedom for Health Care Workers Act, which would nullify the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' COVID-19 vaccine mandate rule, passed with bipartisan support 227-203. Unfortunately, Senate Majority Leader Schumer has failed to move the legislation despite last year's Senate voting 49-44 to approve a resolution of congressional disapproval of the same rule. Congress holds the power of the purse and must take every step possible to defund these tyrannical mandates once and for all.

We therefore request that you include the following language in the FY 2024 Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act:

None of the funds provided under this Act to the Department of Health and Human Services, or provided under a previous or subsequent appropriations Act to such department, or provided from any account in the Treasury of the United States derived by the collection of fees available to such department, may be used to enforce the rule titled "Medicare and Medicaid Programs; Omnibus COVID-19 Health Care Staff Vaccination", which was issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services on November 5, 2021, or any substantially similar rule.

Again, we are asking that you include language that specifies that none of the funds appropriated shall be used for enforcing COVID-19 vaccine mandates.

Sincerely,

Chip Roy Member of Congress Jeff Duncan Member of Congress Rose Mormen

Wan Bishop

Ralph Norman Member of Congress

Josh Brecheen Member of Congress

Dan Bishop Member of Congress

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Daniel Webster Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde

Mary & Miller

Mary Miller Member of Congress

Claudia Genney

Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

Andy Ogles Member of Congress

Eric Burlison Member of Congress

Lauren Boebert Member of Congress

Eli Crane Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga Member of Congress

Scott DesJarlais Member of Congress

Troy Nehls Member of Congress

Bob Good

Member of Congress